New Creative Habit Proposal: Creative Environments

One of my personal weaknesses as an illustrator is backgrounds and environments. I can draw a variety of characters in both realistic and stylized designs, and I can make a background as long as I have reference, but designing a physical space without finding some template to work on always gives me trouble. For this project, I plan to thumbnail at least five different creative environments a week, and possibly spend the remaining 2 days rendering out my favorite of the thumbnails if I have time in my schedule.

Some examples of environment different thumbnails:

6bf27100d50c7ddac740a69bc2f73d78by calebollivant

environment_thumbnails-valueblocking-03by Kevin Mangaroo

environment_thumbnail_sketches_iii_by_patricia_steves-d86zer6

by Patricia Steves

I’m hoping to do a variety of creative environments in both value blocking and color as seen above.

Leave a Reply

